I found an easy way for removing from My Drive, in a way that shows what is happening:
- Select the file or folder
- See its details by clicking on the "See Details" button: in "Location", all places where the item is are shown.
- click on the "X" at the right of "My Drive"
This way I was able to see where I was removing the folder from, without frightening warnings.