More than likely this was functionality that Google was rolling out gradually and your co-worker simply hadn't gotten it yet. This is very typical of how Google implements new functions, I expect so that they can halt the deployment if it's found to have an egregious bug and minimize the damage.

Generally, the only thing that can be done is to wait for the rollout to complete.